Excellence in Diversity Awards

Virtual Award Ceremony

Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 4:00 p.m.

A video link to the award ceremony will be added on this page.
No registration required.

About the Event

In 1990, MSU launched a new program to celebrate its diversity that quickly became nationally recognized and modeled. The Excellence in Diversity Recognition and Awards Program (EIDA) was created to promote and encourage support of diversity by recognizing individuals, teams, units, and organizations that have performed above and beyond what they were hired or designated to do, to demonstrate outstanding leadership and creativity in the area of diversity. In the spring of each year, the program culminates with a ceremony to recognize winners of the award.

2020-2021 Selection Team

  • Hilda Mejia Abreu
  • John Beck
  • Craig Gunn
  • Bess German
  • Kevin Leonard
  • James Lucas
  • Florene McGlothian-Taylor
  • Jeff Wray


2020-21 Excellence in Diversity Award Winners

Individual Award: Emerging Progress

  • Amber Benton, Director of Diversity Programming & Student Engagement, James Madison College
  • Laura Scales, Academic Specialist, Department of Theatre
  • Quentin Tyler, Associate Dean and Director for the Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources 

Individual Award: Sustained Efforts toward Excellence in Diversity

  • Susan Ewart, Professor, Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

Individual Award: Lifetime Achievement

  • Dave Weatherspoon, Professor, Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Department and Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Office of the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education

Team Award: Emerging Progress

Team Award: Sustained Efforts toward Excellence in Diversity

Organization Award: Excellent Progress toward Advancing Diversity within Community